Why IDGAF that the new Doctor is a Woman

Let’s get two things clear. I love Doctor Who; I had all the action figures, all the posters, the internal TARDIS play set and I could never wait for Saturdays because that’s when it was on! Especially if it was in two parts.

It always got me excited; I loved the Doctor, he was so smart and quirky and the episodes always set my imagination on fire – I used to write my own made up adventures with the Doctor; Long story short, Doctor Who was my childhood.

Secondly, I am a feminist – so when you put the two together I should be thrilled that the new Doctor is a female? Right? WRONG!

I mean, I am very happy that we finally have a female Doctor – it’s revolutionary for women, as we’ve been under represented on the stage since the days of Shakespeare – seriously, the reason the men wore tights were to imitate the “smooth shapes of a woman’s leg”.

However, I’m not going to sing the song of praise for Jodie Whittaker yet. Ever since David Tenant, I’ve been disappointed by the characteristics of the Doctor.

Matt Smith was a younger, more hip version of David Tenant:
E.g. David Tenant’s catchphrase was ‘Allons-y’, while Smith was given the obvious, ‘Geronimo’

But to me, Smith’s character felt forced; he was trying too hard to be cool and quirky and clever the same way Tenant played the Doctor. Alternatively, I also did not enjoy most of the story lines when Moffat was the show writer, because he tried to up the ante too much, leaving little room for a surprising, heart leaping climax. And, they simply just failed to captivate my interest or imagination.

So you could say, I have failed to enjoy Doctor Who for a while now. Which is quite sad, considering it’s something I loved greatly.

Therefore, I can come to the conclusion that until I have seen Jodie Whittaker as the Doctor, I cannot make an accurate assessment of whether she will be good or bad as the Doctor because I have not seen her act as the Doctor yet.

Her gender has nothing to do whether she will be a good Doctor. She will neither be automatically a good or a bad Doctor just because she is a female.

What will make her a good Doctor is the quality of her acting and her ability to adapt to the role as the Doctor, and make it her own. While I did love David Tenant, it would be refreshing to see an original character, with a new perspective, rather than regenerating the same old overused persona.

So that is why IDGAF that the new Doctor is a woman; because I am not basing her character as the Doctor by her gender, but through her talent and experience of acting and seeing whether she will be play a good Doctor.

Whether she does, or does not, has nothing to do with her being a woman; and that’s what Feminism it – at it’s heart,  Feminism is believing that women are Equal to men, not better and not inferior. Therefore women should never be judged by their sex, but by the content of their characters.

Leave a Reply

